Saturday, 30 May 2020

The Plus One Pact by Portia Macintosh



Today I am excited to share with you my review of this brilliant, funny and romantic new release from portia Macintosh. Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me to join the tour, and for my copy of the ebook in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. 




Book Description
What if your plus one could be the one...?
Cara has officially run out of men. Her most recent dates have gone from bad to worse, and when her dating app informs her there is no one left in her area to choose from, she is at a dead end.
But with a summer of events ahead of her, she needs to find a solution, fast; someone to keep her company at the never-ending weddings, family gatherings and gender reveal parties that she can’t face going to alone. 
So when she meets handsome, confident, Millsy on a night out she may be in luck. They could not be more different in personality, but he too has a summer of events ahead and is desperate to get his family off his back about finding a ‘nice girl’. What if they made a pact to help each other out and be a plus one for the summer? Just as friends of course...? 

A brand new romantic comedy from bestseller Portia MacIntosh, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley, Sophie Ranald and Mhairi McFarlane.




My Review
This is a fantastic book and one that I simply adored from beginning to end. 
Cara is getting fed up with all the rubbish dates she has been on recently. They have gone from bad to truly awful. Her app is now telling her that there are no longer any matches on the dating site for her so she has now run out of men. 
She is on one last date before she gets stood up. Sitting in a bar all alone, Cara believes things are looking really bleak. That is until a handsome stranger comes over to talk to her. 
She finds out his name is Millsy and he offers to take her out for a drink. 
The two of them could not be more different, but they do get along well and seem to enjoy each others company. When Cara explain to Millsy that the reason she needs to find a man is that she has a busy diary of events over the summer and each one of them has included a plus one for her. As most of these are family events she is determined that she will not go to these events alone. 
Millsy admits that he has the same issue and his family just want him to find a nice girl. He then comes up with a plan for the two of them to make a pact and become each others plus one. 
At first Cara is reluctant as she hardly knows Millsy, but the more time she spends with him the more she begins to like him, but she cannot fall for him as they are only doing it as friends. 
This could be an interesting summer of events for them both. 
This is such a fun and romantic read that you will find really hard to put down. 
The characters are both so great to get to know and I found them both to be relatable. The chemistry between Cara and  Millsy is obvious from the start and you can almost feel the sizzle on each page. They do have many differences between them but that just seems to make their friendship stronger. They also seem to compliment well too. 
There are some really hilarious moments the two she as they do have some disasters with the events they go to, this just seems to cement their friendship even more. 
I would also like to add how inviting the cover is and being so brightly coloured makes it a brilliant summer read. 
I love books from Portia Macintosh and this is my favourite so far.  





Published by Boldwood Books 20th May 2020



Purchase Link



About the Author

Portia MacIntosh is a bestselling romantic comedy author of 12 novels, including It's Not You, It's Them and Honeymoon For One. Previously a music journalist, Portia writes hilarious stories, drawing on her real life experiences.


Social Media









Thank you for taking the time to visit my Blog today, and I hope you enjoyed my review. 






Sunday, 24 May 2020

A Cornish Summer Holiday Little Duck Pond Cafe by Rosie Green



Today is my stop on the Blog Tour for this next instalment from the Little Duck Pond Cafe series by Rosie Green. Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me to join the tour, and for my copy of the ebook in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. 



Book Description
The Little Duck Pond Cafe girls are looking forward to a well-earned break in the Cornish seaside town of Pengully Sands, where Sylvia’s sister, Aggie, owns a holiday home. With the glorious golden sands, sparkling azure sea and an ice-cream parlour only yards away, it seems like the perfect location to relax and watch the surfers riding the waves (and maybe even have a go themselves). But when they arrive, the girls find it’s not quite the seaside idyll they were expecting. The house is less ‘holiday home’ and more ‘creepy, dilapidated haunted house.’ Gracie, who runs the ice-cream parlour, has problems of her own and the last thing she needs is a bunch of high-spirited girls arriving to disturb the peace and isolation she craves. And when a handsome stranger looks set to destroy her livelihood, it seems like the last straw. Will Gracie get her happy ending - and maybe even make friends with the girls next-door? This wasn’t the relaxing break the Little Duck Pond Cafe girls were expecting, but that doesn’t mean it won’t be the holiday of a lifetime!



My Review
The girls from The Little Duck Pond Cafe are getting away for a month on a nice relaxing girls holiday. They are heading to Pengully Sands in Cornwall. They have been given the opportunity of a break by the seaside by Sylvia, her sister Aggie owns the cottage and the girls cannot wait to get away and relax.
What they were not expecting was just how run down the cottage is. Sylvia is there to meet them and is really apologetic with the state of the cottage.
It is over breakfast the next morning that an idea forms between them all and the decision is made between the girls and Aggie that they will still stay at the cottage for the month as planned and give it a total refurbishment including all the repairs. Once the repairs are all complete the girls will all have the use of the cottage in the future. 
Gracie is taking over the Ice cream parlour along the beautiful beach in Pengully Sands. She loves the peace and isolation of the area and is not happy to have that disturbed by the new visitors. She already has enough issues to be dealing with without them disturbing her. 
The problems that Gracie is having only get worse with the arrival of Dan, another visitor to Pengully Sands who is keen to purchase the Ice cream parlour, this holds so many memories for Gracie and she is not willing to give them up.
What follows is the month of renovations, secrets and mysteries as the girls spend the month making the most of their trip to Cornwall. 
Gracie also finds out some very exciting news that could change everything for her. 
This it is fair to say that this will be a month of adventures that none of them will forget. 
This book was so much fun to read and I loved meeting up with the Little Duck Pond Cafe girls again. It was great to see them all together and just having fun together on their Cornish break. 
You also meet Gracie who is having issues dealing with all that has happened in her life. As you read the book you do get a great insight into her life and why she is struggling so much to move on. 
You also start to get to know Lucy, I believe the next book will feature more of her story.
The setting of Pengully Sands sounds just beautiful and the perfect place to escape real life and just relax and recharge. 
I also loved the mysteries surround the cottages give this book a great twist too. 
This is a great addition to the Little Duck Pond Cafe series and the perfect read to take your mind off life.
I cannot wait to see what is next in store for the girls. 





Purchase Link



About the Author

Rosie has been scribbling stories ever since she was little.


Back then, they were rip-roaring adventure tales with a young heroine in perilous danger of falling off a cliff or being tied up by 'the baddies'.

Thankfully, Rosie has moved on somewhat, and now much prefers to write romantic comedies that melt your heart and make you smile, with really not much perilous danger involved at all - unless you count the heroine losing her heart in love.
Her series of novellas is centred around life in a village cafe. The latest, ‘Lemon Drizzle Mondays at the Little Duck Pond Cafe', is out now.
Rosie is currently writing a full-length book, ‘Lucy’s Great Cornish Escape’, which – in a fun twist – will feature favourite characters from the Little Duck Pond CafĂ© series.



Social Media





Thank you for visiting my Blog today, and I hope you enjoyed my review. 







Friday, 22 May 2020

JoJo's French Escape by Lorraine Wilson


Today I am pleased to share with you my review of this heartwarming and romantic new release from Lorraine Wilson. Thank you to Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me to take part in this Publication day push and for my copy of the ebook n exchange for my honest and unbiased review. 



Book Description
Trapped in paradise…
For twelve months JoJo Grant has been hiding from a secret too shameful to share.  And whilst her sanctuary might be the beautiful French countryside, JoJo has a horrible feeling that her peace is about to be shattered…because bursting into her life is the hottest celebrity chef around – Callum O’Connor.
Callum knows all about JoJo’s past, her time as a reality star, the scandal that has dogged her, but he isn’t sure why she’s still hiding?  After spending time with Jojo, it’s obvious to him that she has nothing to be ashamed of – she just needs to be a little braver…

But as much as JoJo likes Callum, he thrives on the glare of the outside world.  Can JoJo let go of her past…with Callum by her side?




My Review
This is such a lovely read that I loved from beginning to end. 
JoJo has Grant has spent the last year in the French countryside. She has run away from her life in England after a secret was revealed, that humiliated her and she just needed to get away from everything that was going on. 
JoJo made good friends with Poppy, who is opening a guest home in the beautiful and tranquil French countryside. JoJo feels safe and content in France, nobody knows her secret and she is slowly becoming herself more and more. 
That is until Poppy and her fiancĂ© Leo, employ a chef for the restaurant they are going to be opening. 
JoJo meets Calum and a spark of attraction does hit her hard, but she is determined to not fall for the handsome new addition. 
Calum knows about what happened to JoJo, and why she ran away. He does not understand why she is still hiding especially when he thinks she has nothing to be ashamed about. 
The more time the two of them spend together the more it becomes clear that there is spark of attraction between the pair. But will JoJo let Calum into her life of does she believe they are just too different, especially with Calum building a career in the spotlight, could Calum just be a holiday romance or is JoJo ready to let him into her life and finally put her past behind her.  
It is going to be a summer in France neither of them will forget. 
The writing style of this book is just brilliant with the perfect mix of fun and romance with some adorable rescue dogs too. 
I really enjoyed getting to know JoJo. She is a brilliant character to read as you watch her blossom and start to enjoy life again too. You do learn more abut the reason she ran away, this gives you a good understanding as to why she is so reluctant to let people into her life. 
The character of Poppy is fun to read. she is a wonderful artist. Having just got engaged to Leo, and trying to set up her new business Poppy, is becoming increasingly busy and is so pleased that JoJo is there to help her. 
Th setting of this book sounds beautiful and the perfect place for JoJo to escape to. 
I loved all of the rescue dogs that feature in the book that Poppy just cannot leave at the animal sanctuary, she even persuades JoJo to get one too.
This book is the perfect holiday read. 

  




Published by One More Chapter 22nd May 2020



Purchase Links






About the Author


Lorraine Wilson writes flirty, feel-good fiction for One More Chapter - a Harper Collins imprint - and is unashamedly fond of happy endings. She loves hearing from readers and feels incredibly grateful to be doing the job she always dreamt of.

She splits her time between the South of France and Cambridgeshire and is usually either writing or reading while being sat on, walked over or barked at by one of her growing band of rescue dogs.



Social Media
Amazon Author Page - http://bit.ly/lorrainewilsonamazon






Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog today, and I hope you enjoyed my review. 

Monday, 11 May 2020

A Wedding in the Olive Garden by Leah Fleming




Today is my stop on the Blog tour for this warm and uplifting release from Leah Fleming. Thank you to Head of Zeus for inviting to join the tour, and for copy of the ebook in exchange for my honest and  unbiased review. 



Book Description
Can an island in the sun provide the second chance Sara needs?

A warm and uplifting novel about love, friendship and new beginnings on the beautiful Greek island of Santaniki.
Sara Loveday flees home and crisis to the beautiful island of Santaniki. Here, amid olive groves and whitewashed stone villas, where dark cypress trees step down to a cobalt blue sea, Sara vows to change her life. Spotting a gap in the local tourist market, she sets up a wedding plan business, specialising in 'second time around' couples.
For her first big wedding, she borrows the olive garden of a local artists' retreat, but almost at once things begin to go wrong. To make matters worse, a stranger from Sara's past arrives on the island, spreading vicious lies. Can her business survive? And what will happen with the gorgeous new man who she's begun to love?
This is a gorgeous, warm-hearted and uplifting novel conjuring the local colour, traditions and close bonds of island life.




My Review
This is an absolutely brilliant and heartwarming read that I loved from beginning to end, and did not want to put down. 
Sara Loveday is heading to the Greek Island of Santaniki. She's hoping to escape her issues from home and get a break to clear her head. 
Sara immediately falls in love with all the island has to offer. With its Olive groves, beautiful blue seas and the traditional villas it is the perfect place to think more about what life has to offer. With this in mind Sara begins to plan her future and she she thinks she found the perfect new business idea of holding weddings on the island, these will be especially for second time couples. 
Sara decides that she needs longer to work out her business plan idea so extends her stay too. 
With her stay in Santaniki extended Sara begins to get to know the locals from the village and is soon making friends and joining in with all the events on the island too. 
Sara then has the opportunity to plan a big wedding and she holds it in the olive gardens of the local artists retreat. Sara is enjoying making this wedding so special and unique to her friends, but thinks don't go entirely to plan when a face from her past appears and he is spreading lies about Sara. She finds this so hard to deal with and doesn't know which way to turn. 
Will the relationships she has made on the island, especially with the handsome Griff, and her love for her new home be enough to help her make her business a success or will she head back to England with another failure?
This is such a brilliant, warm and uplifting read that really gives you an insight into the customs and values of the village life. 
The writing style of this book is so inviting and the setting of this book sounds just perfect for some much needed escapism. The book is also set over a two year period so the story flows at a gentle pace. 
I liked getting to know Sara, its wonderful to see her blossom and grow with the confidence she develops in Santaniki. She makes some great friends on the island too which really offer her a great support. 
I really liked the way this book is set out. It almost has a series of smaller stories interwoven to make a bigger one. It also means you can get to know more of the people staying and living in Santaniki.
This was the first book I have read by Leah Fleming but it definitely will not be the last. 





Purchase Links


Google Play - https://bit.ly/2XjeKzk




About the Author



After careers in teaching, catering, running a market stall, stress management courses in the NHS as well as being a mother of four, Leah Fleming found her true calling as a storyteller. She lives in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales but spends part of the year marinating her next tale from an olive grove on her favourite island of Crete. 


Social Media





Head of Zeus

Website - www.headofzeus.com








Thank you for taking the time to visit my Blog today, and I hope you enjoyed my review. 

Sunday, 10 May 2020

Mum's Big Break by Louise Emma Clarke



Today is my stop on the Blog tour for this fun and witty new release from Louise Emma Clarke. Thank you to Aria Fiction for inviting me to join the tour, and for my copy of the ebook in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. 




Book Description

Life in the spotlight was never going to be easy... 

Jess's life was turned upside down when her blog went viral. Now, with hundreds of thousands of followers, Jess is now navigating the trials and tribulations of a world online. 
Being a mummy blogger was originally an escape, but now it seems to be turning into a career. And after one wrong post on her social media channels, Jess discovers that life in the spotlight isn't always peachy. 
With a new baby on the way, the possibility of starring in a reality TV show and a husband who's struggling with his wife's new-found fame, Jess has a lot going on. 
Jess needs to decide whether this is everything she wanted it to be or whether this is all a bit too much for her? Can Jess persevere against the haters, rise up above the pettiness and find the perfect balance of life in the real world and life online? 
Perfect for fans of Suzy K Quinn, Fiona Gibson and Gill Simms.





My Review
This is such a fun and honest read that I loved from beginning to end, and did not want to put it down. 
Jess's life has changed so much since she got thrust into the limelight after starting up a hugely successful blog about the letters she was writing to her bump and then her newborn baby. It originally was her way of learning how to become a mum and escape real life for a while. It has now become a career choice for her and she is really enjoying it. 
Now with a second baby on the way and her Blog continuing to increase the offers she is receiving are getting better, after making a small mistake with her Blog Jess begins to feel that maybe having a an agent will help her make better decisions, and to help her career get bigger. 
With having an agent the offers become bigger and Jess is even offered the chance to be a tv star. This is something that Jess cannot turn down even if her husband does not agree. 
With her pregnancy progressing and the events she is being invited to Jess is really enjoying the life she created for herself. Jess enjoys all of the events with her fellow bloggers, except for bumping into Tiggy, she is a rival blogger that Jess has never got along with. 
With this pregnancy flying by this book follows all of the ups and downs that Jess has to deal with. She has a great group of friends who help her along this fun filled journey often with hilarious results. 
I absolutely adored this book and did not want it to end. This is the second instalment from the life of Jess but it can also be read as a standalone read. 
The writing style of this book is fun, witty and really engaging. I enjoyed getting to know Jess and the life she has created for herself and family. The group friends she has around her sound amazing and its great to read how much they all support each other when things become difficult. They are also there for the fun times too,  which will really make you laugh out loud. 
You do get a good insight into just how much being a blogger involves, the time it takes up and how easy it is to make a small mistake too. 
I really hope that there is another release from Louise Emma Clarke showing us how Jess and her family are getting on with the new addition as I would love to read more. 






Published by Aria 23rd April 2020


Purchase Link



About the Author
'From Mum With Love' is the debut novel from Louise Emma Clarke; the award-winning writer behind the blog 'Mum of Boys & Mabel'.

Louise was educated at Tunbridge Wells Girls' Grammar School and the University of Southampton, before moving to London to begin a career in publishing at magazines and newspapers including Daily Express, Take a Break, That's Life, Best Magazine, and Woman's Weekly.

After getting married in 2010, Louise moved to Dubai and worked as a freelance journalist for publications including Time Out Dubai, Time Out Kids, Aquarius Magazine, Gulf News, Baby & Child Magazine, and Dubai Confidential.

She started her blog in 2014, a few months after the birth of her second baby - and it quickly attracted a loyal following of over 100,000 mothers across the globe and won numerous awards for its relatable, humorous content.

Now living in the UK countryside with her husband and three children - Stanley (6), Wilfred (4) and Mabel (2) - Louise is moving into novel writing with the publication of 'From Mum With Love' in February 2019.




Social Media





Aria











Thank you for taking the time to visit my Blog today, and I hope you enjoyed my review. 



Friday, 8 May 2020

Sing Me a Secret by Julie Houston



Today is my stop on the Blog tour for this wonderful new release from Julie Houston. Thank you to Aria Fiction for inviting me to join the tour, and for my copy of the ebook in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. 




Book Description
The four Sutherland sisters have all had very different paths in life, but one secret and a slighty tense production of Jesus Christ Superstar are about to bring them all back together again…

When the news that pop-superstar Lexia Sutherland is returning to Westenbury, not everyone is thrilled by the news – including Lexia. There are too many memories she doesn’t need to face – or need re-surfacing. Meanwhile, Juno Sutherland just wants a little peace and quiet. 

As the local village doctor, she’s got her priorities in order; kids, job, husband, tenacious pony, a role in the village musical… So when the sexy new locum turns up – and steals her office – the last thing she needed was to be hit with rising temperatures and an over-active imagination. 

Will these sisters be able to uncover the past, deal with the future and put on the performance of a lifetime? 

Return to Westenbury this spring and find out. 





My Review
Having read A Village Affair by Julie Houston and loving it I could not wait to get started on this new release. 
We are heading back to the Village of Westenbury where we meet the Sutherland Sisters, Juno, Lexia, Pandora and Ariadne. 
Juno works as a doctor at the local surgery. She juggles this with looking after her two children with a menagerie of animals and all that their lives entail too. She does this alone as her husband has moved to the USA to work for a year. 
Lexia is an amazing singer who found fame and fortune with her incredible voice. She is now married to Theo Ryan who is a famous footballer and they have a son too. 
Pandora is the bossy and efficient one of the sisters. She once worked as a solicitor, but became a stay at home mum after having her son. She is now on every committee within the village and also runs the local choir. 
Ariadne works as a teacher but does not seem to enjoy her job, or even like children that much. 
The sisters are brought together by a singing competition being run by Pandora. 
all of the sisters can sing. It is a skill they have all got from their mother. The sisters did not have the best upbringing as their womanising  father left their mother for another, much younger woman, leaving her heartbroken and and suffering with mental health issues. This resulted in the older sisters looking after the younger ones. 
With all the sisters now reunited  in Westenbury, seeing each other again could be difficult for them all. Their lives are all very different now, with complications.  
They all have secrets they are trying to keep will the reunion be everything they hoped for all will it cause more heartache for them all. 
With the handsome locum doctor added to the mix this will make an exciting time for one of the sisters too. 
This is such a wonderful read that you will not want to put down. 
I really like the witty writing style of Julie Houston. She has a way of really drawing you into the story and making you feel part of it. 
The story is mainly told from the lives of Juno and Lexia. Both of them are very complex characters who both are trying their best to overcome all of the difficulties in their lives. 
You do also get to know Pandora and Ariadne too. 
all of the sisters have different memories of what happened in the past, which does cause them a few differences. 
I enjoyed all of the twists and turns, and ups and downs within the book and they keep you guessing right up the end. 
I thoroughly enjoyed this hilarious and heartwarming read from Julie Houston, and I am already looking forward to her next release. 





Published by Aria on 7th May 2020



Purchase Links



Google Play - https://bit.ly/2vELIye



About the Author

Julie Houston is the author of THE ONE SAVING GRACE, GOODNESS, GRACE AND ME and LOOKING FOR LUCY, a Kindle top 100 general bestseller and a Kindle #1 bestseller. She is married, with two teenage children and a mad cockerpoo and, like her heroine, lives in a West Yorkshire village. She is also a teacher and a magistrate.



Social Media







Aria 











Thank you for taking the time to visit my Blog today, and I hope you enjoyed my review. 









The Plus One Pact by Portia Macintosh

Today I am excited to share with you my review of this brilliant, funny and romantic new release from portia Macintosh. Thank you to ...