Sunday, 11 August 2019

The Girl he used to know by Tracey Garvis Graves



Today I am sharing with you my review of the fantastic new release from Tracey Garvis Graves. Than you to Tracy Fenton from Compulsive Reader for inviting me to join the tour and for my copy of the ebook in exchange for the honest and unbiased review. 



Book Description
What if you had a second chance at first love?
Annika Rose likes being alone. 
She feels lost in social situations, saying the wrong thing or acting the wrong way. She just can't read people. She prefers the quiet solitude of books or playing chess to being around others. Apart from Jonathan. She liked being around him, but she hasn't seen him for ten years. Until now that is. And she's not sure he'll want to see her again after what happened all those years ago.

Annika Rose likes being alone. 
Except that, actually, she doesn't like being alone at all.

The Girl He Used to Know is an uplifting novel full of surprising revelations that keep you turning the page. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Gail Honeyman, Jill Santopolo and Sliding Doors.



My Review
This is a great slow paced read that I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish and I couldn't put down. 
First you meet Annika Rose. She feels she is not the same as everybody else. She doesn't like being in social situations and very much prefers be alone reading. She does have a best friend, Janice who does give her a push at times to encourage her to do some different thing and try some new experiences. It is here that you see her meet Jonathan at chess club, a club that Annika has really enjoyed being part of. 
Annika and Jonathan build up relationship between them and Annika is happy to let him into her life as she feels he understands her. 
Ten years later Annika is out shopping and bumps into Jonathan again. They have not seen each other for ten years and Annika is not sure that Jonathan will want to see her again after what happened between them both all those years ago. 
What follows as you read the book is watching the two of them reconnect and will Annika realise that maybe she does not want to be alone after all. 
Really enjoyed reading this book. I loved how there were two time lines so you could read about the past of the two as well as what is currently happening between them both. The story is also told between both Jonathan and Annika so you get to see the story from both sides and see how each of them is feeling. 
I found Annika to be very relatable as we all have our own insecurities. 
I am looking forward to reading more books from Tracey Garvis Graves. 





Published by Trapeze on the 8th August 2019


Purchase Link



About the Author
Tracey Garvis-Graves lives in a suburb of Des Moines, Iowa, with her husband, two children, and dog Chloe. She blogs at www.traceygarvisgraves.com, and can also be found on Twitter @tgarvisgraves and Facebook at facebook.com/tgarvisgraves. This is her first novel.






Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog and I hope you enjoyed my review. 

No comments:

Lucy's Great Escape, little Duck Pond Cafe by Rosie Green

Today I am excited to share with you my review of this wonderful new release in the Little Duck Pond Cafe series from Rosie Green. Thank you...